About The Red Lion

Set in the small but perfectly formed village of Ashington on the South Downs, The Red Lion is a smasher of a pub & restaurant known for serving good, honest food, a great range of real ales and quaffable wines.

Sunny days, cosy nights

Our characterful pub is stylishly yet comfortably kitted out, providing plenty of cosy corners under the beams of the original 16th century building. Outside we have a smart little eating and drinking area, ideal for a bit of alfresco enjoyment during the summer.

Signup for your voucher
Book your christmas party
Come inside and discover our Easter treats

Best pub in the village? Tell us how we did and you could win lots of lovely bubbly.

A photograph of the seating area of The Red Lion in AshingtonA photograph of the interior of The Red Lion in Ashington

A photograph of The Red Lion in Ashington

Enjoy a complimentary mulled drink this winter


Sign up now and you'll be the first to know about our special promotions throughout the year. As a winter treat, you can enjoy a mulled drink on the house - it's the perfect start to the festive season. Plus, we'll help you add some sparkle to your birthday with a complimentary bottle of champagne!

By joining our mailing list, you'll receive the latest news and a treats straight to your inbox. Don't forget to join our Wine Club too (just tick the box) for more corking offers.

Opening times

11am-11pm Monday to Saturday,
11am-10.30pm Sunday

Food served all day

12pm-10pm Monday to Saturday,
12pm-9pm Sunday

Christmas opening times

Thursday 18th December 11:00 to 0:00
Friday 19th December 11:00 to 0:00
Saturday 20th December 11:00 to 0:00
Sunday 21th December 11:00 to 0:00
Monday 22th December 11:00 to 0:00
Tuesday 23th December 11:00 to 0:00
Wednesday 24th December 11:00 to 0:00
Friday 26th December 11:00 to 22:30
Saturday 27th December 11:00 to 0:00
Sunday 28th December 11:00 to 0:00
Monday 29th December 11:00 to 0:00
Tuesday 30th December 11:00 to 0:00
Wednesday 31th December 11:00 to 1:00
Thursday 1st January 11:00 to 22:30
Friday 2nd January 11:00 to 0:00
Saturday 3rd January 11:00 to 0:00

Online bookings

You're welcome to pop in anytime, but if you're planning something special it might be an idea to book a table.

The Cask Marque Trust Logo

The Red Lion in Ashington is a member of the Cask Marque Trust in recognition of its excellence in the service of real ale.

Real ale, real food and a really good atmosphereLondon Road, Ashington, Pulborough, RH20 3DDTel: 01903 892523